Showing posts with label Thursday. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Thursday. Show all posts

Thursday, April 14, 2011

October 15, 2007

I blogged this little list
Reasons why I was a mom this weekend:
1. I made chocolate chip meringue cookies this weekend.
2. I did dishes five times.
3. I made some chocolate fudge type of dessert.
4. Made gourmet chicken, mashed potatoes, and corn.
5. Invited my friends over for a hearty meal on Sunday evening.
6. Did all the dishes from said meal.
7. Vacuumed and mopped the house.
8. 409ed counters everywhere.
9. Bought a pillow at DI with intentions to re-cover it.
10. Re-covered said pillow.

Reason why I am not a mom right now:
1. I made this bragging list.
Nearly four years later I feel like maybe I used to accomplish more in a day than I do now. Yikes. Here's my list of
Reasons why I am a mom right now:
  1. I woke up at 6:30 this morning and didn't even complain about it.
  2. I changed a diaper on the changing table I own in my house
  3. I wrote 700 words of an essay because my son was happy enough to play for 30 minutes this morning
  4. It's 9:07 and I'm awake, blogging, and writing an essay (more the blogging than essaying)
Reasons why I am not a mom right now:
  1. It's 9:09 in the morning and I have already showered for the day.
  2. I am not blogging about my son
Though I absolutely love being a mom, it's not quite as glamorous as I think I once imagined it was. Who has time to make gourmet chicken when there is school to do, babies and husbands to love, laundry to fold, and bodies to get back into shape?

Cheers.

Friday, January 30, 2009

Ramble, ramble, ramble.

I think it's time I reinstate Thursday with favorite day status. Because seriously, Thursday is a great day. I went to my internet publishing class and learned some crazy new techniques for building websites, built my website for a couple hours, and had an awesome night. Rachel made dinner for Joshua and me (part of our new dinner club) and we played wii for forever. On Thursday's I have a 5 hour break between classes. It's perfect for studying and not studying alike. It's just the best day of the week.

I'm not exactly sure why today I'm all Thursdaying, because today is a pretty dang fantastic day. I had class this morning at 9 and went to the T-zone to get spoons so Joshua and I could eat our yogurt, and I left with a doughnut (what! how did that get there?*) and two spoons in my hand. I forgot how much I LOVE BYU doughnuts. I love them SO. MUCH.

So anyway, I ate my doughnut on the way to meet Josh, climbed 2 flights of stairs (to cancel out the doughnut) and met my fiance for a healthy yogurt/banana/apple/honey nut cheerios breakfast. We ate and talked, studied our O-chem stuff, then went to the mac lab to work on my website. My new website habit isn't Josh's favorite because it involves working on Mac's which disagree with his real school work. I, however, am learning very practical skills working on a Mac because someday Mac and Google are going to take control of the world. So learning how to build websites with only Mac programs even though I don't have a Mac is totally the smartest thing I can do with my time, okay?

Then my chem recessitation (recitation, but i like recessitation better) was wonderful because a) The homework set isn't due ever, b) I got 10 points for being there and c) I met my female soulmate and we talked weddings the whole time. I love weddings. And that's all I'm going to write and talk about for now.

Happy pseudo Thursday to everyone, HAGW!



*
For all you pessimists, I did NOT steal the doughnut. I totally paid for it.

Thursday, October 18, 2007

i hate this cmputer

I'm downstairs in the science and maps section typing on a keyboad about to give up the ghost. Al the letters that i'm missing? i'm just really lazy and don't want to strain my finger by pressing too hard. ths is why i never should leave the confines of the lrc.

My eye has been hurting for the last three days. i'm nt very fnd of having a blurry left eye, espcially as that is my wrse eye, cannot g without contact in that eye or i'll suffer death of a headache. I love alaina's new blg. I'm sad I can't be in oregon riht nw. I miss my sisters.

Borrrrrrrng. Still, today is thursday, andit's a dang good day so far.

Friday, October 12, 2007

Under a lucky star

The days are getting better. I absolutely love it. Today was the first day in approximately 1000 days that I got to sleep in past the late hour of 8:00. Can I just tell you how good that feels? Because it is extremely wonderful to have that in my life. I am currently drinking out of a yellow cup with a straw permanently attached and the bottom reads 'Alex Doermans cup'. That just goes to show you how many dishes are currently in the dishwasher and the sink, currently needing to be washed. A little overwhelming? Possibly.

Tonight I'm staying at Laina's house and having a girl party with Rach and her. Uhh Josh is out of town this weekend so I'm going to study probably. I already am getting overwhelmed by the weekend. Remember how I like Thursdays? Yesterday Thursday might have been the best Thursday of my life.

I went on a tour of the GHB with Joshua. Can I tell you how gorgeous that building is? It's simply amazing. And I walked through President Hinkley's living room, and read some family books, and saw four gigantic handmade carpents from countries with child labor like India and China. There is a GAZEBO in the back of the GHB. Definitely stood in there and tried to take a picture but the camera died, so I'm very sorry for those of you who wanted to see pictures of the Gazebo behind the GHB.



Have a happy day.

Tuesday, October 09, 2007

Wish it were Thursday

Hmm I'm sitting in the library not doing my homework and blogging instead. That's a new story. I have a math test to take tomorrow morning. I didn't fail my anatomy test. I have a caffiene headache, but I'm not complaining. I get to watch a movie tonight.

Thursday, October 04, 2007

T-day

Four Reasons Why Thursday Wins
1. BMT day at Subway. (by default, BMT is the best sandwich)
2. Thursday evening is when The Office, 30 Rock, and Scrubs are on. All in a row, mind you.
3. The weekend starts on Thursday. "Why does it start on Thursday?" you ask, and here is why. Friday is basically counted as the weekend. For the schooling folks, Friday involves lasting through an hour or few of class and then blowing off all other responsibilities as soon as that's done. For the workers, Friday involves wasting as much time as possible so that Friday work hours get over with. Also, it is popular for vacationers to leave for vacation on Thursday, making Friday a responsibilityless day. So, essentially, Friday is a waste day, and Thursday marks the last hard day of work before the weekend can begin.
4. 6 weeks from Thursday (today) I will be on vacation in New York City, NY.

Best Day of the Week

Today I am enjoying my Thursday. I got out of Anatomy, retrieved my maple/sprinkles doughnut, ate it in the sunlight and breeze, and have descended into the depths of the library. I didn't bring my own computer today so I'll get more homework done...soo instead I'm parked at a library computer waiting until my table will hopefully be freed from the weirdos sitting at it. Life is so unfair sometimes.

My week is getting WAY better than last week was. My friend boy with a girlfriend is now just the friend boy. Tonight I get to go to a birthday dinner for my Subway BFF, Laura, and watch THE OFFICE and a new episode of 30 Rock will occur so I can watch it tomorrow when I'm holed up in the library for five or six hours. Amanda comes tomorrow morning, so she's gonna hole up in the library and do homework with me until I have class and then KNOLL TIME!

Friday will be devoted to studying for Anatomy, and somehow I'm supposed to take that test on Saturday before Rach and I head off to Gma's. I can't wait for conference weekend! I already miss Alaina and Adrie. Maybe I should drop out of school and be a live in nanny. That sound good?

Hahaha, my favorite song 'Alison' just shuffled to play. It makes me want to watch Get Over It. I made a fantastic playlist that I listen to. This morning on the way to school I was totally rocking out to 'So Much Love' aaand I definitely got some weird looks. I just saw a boy that looks surprisingly like Chad, Rachel's Chad, except a lot littler. Like, one foot and 5 years littler.

I really don't have ADHD, but this blog is pretty much ADHD in word form. Let's make some playlists this weekend, okay?

Thursday, September 27, 2007

So good to me.....

Thursday just might be worming it's way into my heart as my favorite day in the week. Why would I like Thursday?, you might ask, and here I will tell you. Thursdays I have anatomy which starts at 10AM. It's my early class. Ha ha! But I actually get up in the mornings, unlike days when I don't start until 11 or 1. After completion of Anatomy I have a joyous three hours until Microbiology. These three hours are the happiest of my life. You see, today I got a delicious maple frosted doughnut with sprinkles from Sugar and Spice. I took this doughnut on a walk to the library, where I sat in the sun eating my doughnut for ten minutes before I went inside the 'brary. I still have ample time to do my homework that needs finishing for MMBIO, and I won't be stressed at all because I don't have to cram for the next two hours. After class is over at a fantastic 3:30, I am DONE FOR THE DAY. That means I get to do whatever I want until 4, when I have some fantastic 'ME' time.

Not only is Thursday a relaxing day, but a superb evening of television is lined up for tonight. Any guesses? Oh yeah, an hour of the 1/2 of the greatest comedies on Television. I say 1/2 comedy because I am in love with 30 rock, but I'm not sure I could pick a favorite. Luckily I won't have to because they're both on Thursday nights when I have nothing else to be doing except enjoying myself.

Friday is slowly being knocked out of the favorites list because it marks the day when I have only one class, and I usually accomplish nothing except attending that one class. This is no fun because I don't have enough days in the week to do everything that I need to. Saturday is also a very not favorite day because I feel like I shouldn't have to study. Feeling like I shouldn't have to study is a BAD FEELING because come Monday, I am stressed beyond belief.

Soooo that's why I love today. Today I can relax and pretend like Monday is never going to come again.


(I am now singing "Monday Monday" except it's "Thursday Thursday bah buh bah buh buh bah" in my head. I hope it's in your head, too.)

Wednesday, September 12, 2007

Five things have made me very happy today

1. I got a locker in the JKB. Now I don't have to carry my books home everyday knowing that I won't study!!

2. I made heads and tails of the stupid scientific report I had to read for Microbiology. You try and understand Erythromycin resistant transformant strains of Campylobacter coli and how they can transform antibiotic sensitive strains of C. Coli into pathogenic ones. It's not very easy.

3. I didn't cry when I didn't know how to do my math.

4. I signed up to hopefully get a tutor for my math class.

5. Tomorrow is Thursday


Five things I am not very happy about today

1. I tried, in vain, to understand college algebra for 1.5 hours today.

2. I don't know anyone who could help me with math. Least of all help would be my "been in the USA for 3 years, Chinese graduate student" for a teacher. I don't understand what he says, I don't have a brilliant Chinese mind, and any accent of any kind (except british) automatically makes math 100 times harder.

3. Basketball makes me very sweaty in the mornings.

4. No one answers their phone anymore. Especially when I need an escort down rape hill.

5. I have 159 terms to memorize for an anatomy QUIZ on Tuesday. I've know about said terms since yesterday.


I'll post a pictures for a happy note.



ps.

My 6th happy thing:

away laughing on a fast camel should be here tomorrow. AH! yay.